The Elyne Mitchell Rural Women’s Writing Award for 2011 was presented at a well attended and successful function in Corryong on Saturday night. The Award is a national competition and shortlisted winners travelled far and wide to hear the announcement of the winners. In the Open category Kate Rotherham from Yackandandah won $1000,  the Emerging Category with $500 was won by Steff Ward from Toowoomba, and the Local Category of $500 was won by Diane Fagan from Tooma. All winners were in attendance and were thrilled to win – it was especially great that Steff and her mum had come all the way from Toowoomba just for the evening – not knowing whether Steff was the winner or not!  Fiona Inglis, Managing Director of literary agency Curtis Brown was guest speaker and also one of the judges, and she spoke of the very high standard of entries and encouraged women to keep on writing. The theme for next year’s competition was announced ‘Leaping into the Future’, with Honor Auchinleck suggesting women start writing now then let it sit for a few months and re-check it before entries close at the end of June 2012.
The Friends of Corryong Library who run the Award would like to thank all the entrants, judges, sponsors and people that helped put the Award together, including Harper Collins and the Uniting Church ladies who supplied the delicious catering, and look forward to the 5th year of the Award next year. The perpetual trophy listing all winners can be viewed in the Elyne Mitchell Public Library in Corryong.