The Elyne Mitchell Writing Award is an Australasian writing competition for stories set in a rural landscape.

Inspired by Elyne Mitchell’s work, the Writing Award seeks to encourage writers to share their stories and to keep the art of storytelling alive.  It gives rural life profile not only through country authors, but urban dwellers also write stories about their experiences and dreams about country life.  It doesn’t matter where you are in Australasia - we want to read your story.

Click here to find out more about Elyne.

EMWR 5 copy


Thinking about entering this years competition? Read our terms and conditions.



We prefer to keep their identities anonymous. Click for more info.



Click here for all the details, categories, entry fees and prizes for 2019.

EMWR 15 copy


We're getting bigger and better all the time - find out what's new!

From the Blog

2017 Shortlisted Entries Announced!

October 12, 2017
Read More

2016 Winners Announced

November 14, 2016

We are pleased to announce the winners of the 2016 Elyne Mitchell Writing Awards Winner of the Open category and $1000 prize is Melbourne writer Kasey Symons with her story “Sam’s Big Game”.   Winner of the Local category and $500 prize is Dixie Coutts with “Lost and Found” Roni O’Brien of Yarrawonga was awarded the $100…

Read More

2016 Shortlisted Entries Announced

October 17, 2016

From an author…. As an entrant to this year’s Elyne Mitchell Writing Award it’s really heartening to be given such a clear picture of the judging process. This is something rarely shared, I find. As a writer it makes me feel my work, along with that of all my fellow entrants, will be given thorough, fair and…

Read More

2015 Shortlisted Entries

October 20, 2015
Read More

2013 Elyne Mitchell Writing Award Winners Announced

January 17, 2014

The atmosphere was electric as people gathered at the Uniting Church Hall in Corryong to hear who was to take home the titles of this year’s Elyne Mitchell Writing Award. People filed in from all over Australia and were treated to delicious fare provided by the Uniting Church ladies. The crowd mingled and enjoyed a…

Read More

2013 Shortlisted Entries

January 6, 2014

2013 Short-Listed Entries – in alphabetical order by Author’s surname HARPERCOLLINS CATEGORY Charlotte Austin, Margaret Shirley Chalmers, The Onion Picker’s Daughter Jim Kent, The Iceman Came Once a Week OPEN CATEGORY  Alana Brekelman, Like Dust in Your Mother’s Hair Kerri Harris, Cubby Struther’s Transformation Iris Leach, The Reprobate Hero Isabella McNickle, The Funeral Jennifer Morris, Red Geraniums Jackie Tritt, Strange Harvest Deb…

Read More

Julia Cameron, The Artist’s Way- the key to unlocking your creativity….

January 19, 2013


Read More

Just do it!

December 18, 2012

Inspiring Authors

Read More

2013 Writing Award Categories Announced

December 5, 2012

2013 Writing Award Categories Announced! Next year we will be celebrating Elyne’s 100th Birthday. Two categories will be open to men for this special event. Our main Award will still be a Women’s Only spectacular!  • Women Writers Award. (Women over 18 years of age) One $1,000 Prize Awarded. 2500 Word Count  • Harper Collins…

Read More

Inspiration from Edna O’Brien……

December 5, 2012
Read More